Governor Abbott Appoints Rep. Dwayne Bohac to Education Commission of the States

April 9, 2018

AUSTIN—Governor Greg Abbott recently announced his appointment of Representative Dwayne Bohac (R-Houston) to the Education Commission of the States, along with three other appointees. The Governor appoints the Texas delegation of the national compact commission, led by Commissioner of Texas Education Agency Mike Morath and Commissioner of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Raymund Paredes.

In addition to Rep. Bohac, the Governor appointed Senator Larry Taylor (R-Friendswood), Representative Ron Simmons (R-Carrollton) and John Colyandro, serving as the Governor’s designee. They will serve with current members Senator Royce West (D-Dallas), Commissioner Morath, and Commissioner Paredes.

"I am honored to receive this appointment by Governor Abbott," Bohac said. "Public education is extremely important to me. As a member of the House Committee on Public Education, I am excited for the opportunity to share resources and experiences with policy experts from across the nation."

The Education Commission of the States ( gathers and analyzes data concerning education needs and resources as well as encourages research in all aspects of education. The Commission was established over 50 years ago as an interstate compact on education policy. The Commission seeks to improve education nationwide by sharing resources and expertise with education policy leaders in each state. The term length for all members is at the pleasure of the governor.

Share and comment on Facebook »

Bohac campaign photo

“Thank you for your commitment to improving our local quality of life. Texas and west Houston are better off because of your consistently strong leadership and your unfailing efforts on our behalf. I particularly want to thank you for your integrity and for your dedication because those are the most outstanding qualities that come to mind when I think of you.”

Betty Rickman, Spring Branch Oaks Subdivision

What Others Are Saying »