Dwayne Bohac Urges Congress to Defund ObamaCare

Dear Senators Cornyn and Cruz and Texas Members of the House of Representatives:

Representing the State of Texas, with its 26 million people, we write at this most urgent hour for you to do all that you can to defund Obamacare and fund the federal government.

We have done all that we can to help stop Obamacare from harming Texans: 1) we refused to create the Obamacare health exchanges; and 2) we refused to expand the Medicaid program under the false pretense of taking federal money now, while burdening taxpayers with millions of dollars in new costs later.

But some of the most pernicious parts of Obamacare can only be stopped at the federal level. Only you can stop the federal government from enforcing the individual mandate; only you can stop the government from creating a new budget-busting entitlement that will drive up the cost of insurance around the country; only you can stop the federal bureaucrats from drafting and imposing thousands of pages of red tape; and only you can stop the federal government from destroying the quality of our health care system.

Therefore, we applaud the action by the United States House of Representatives on Friday, September 20, 2013, to pass a bill that defunds Obamacare and funds the government.  

Next, it is up to Senators Cornyn and Cruz to hold the line and make sure Democratic Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid does not use procedural tricks to strip the defunding language from the House bill.  

We know that Republican Senators will need continued support from the Republican-led House to prevent Democrats from funding Obamacare. Together, we can prevail.

Remember the spirit of so many Texans, who have fought much worse odds in the past: stay strong, stay resolute, and do not give in.


Rep. Dwayne Bohac


  • Sen. Brian Birdwell
  • Sen. Donna Campbell
  • Sen. Craig Estes
  • Sen. Troy Fraser
  • Sen. Kelly Hancock
  • Sen. Glenn Hegar
  • Sen. Jane Nelson
  • Sen. Dan Patrick 
  • Sen. Ken Paxton
  • Sen. Charles Schwertner
  • Sen. Larry Taylor
  • Sen. Tommy Williams
  • Rep. Charles "Doc" Anderson
  • Rep. Cecil Bell, Jr.
  • Rep. Dennis Bonnen
  • Rep. Greg Bonnen
  • Rep. Cindy Burkett
  • Rep. Angie Chen Button
  • Rep. Bill Callegari
  • Rep. Giovanni Capriglione
  • Rep. Stefani Carter
  • Rep. Travis Clardy
  • Rep. Brandon Creighton
  • Rep. Myra Crownover
  • Rep. Tony Dale
  • Rep. Gary Elkins
  • Rep. Pat Fallon
  • Rep. Marsha Farney
  • Rep. Allen Fletcher
  • Rep. Dan Flynn
  • Rep. James Frank
  • Rep. John Frullo
  • Rep. Craig Goldman
  • Rep. Patricia Harless
  • Rep. Linda Harper-Brown
  • Rep. Harvey Hilderbran
  • Rep. Bryan Hughes
  • Rep. Jason Isaac
  • Rep. Phil King
  • Rep. Susan King
  • Rep. Tim Kleinschmidt
  • Rep. Stephanie Klick
  • Rep. Lois Kolkhorst
  • Rep. Matt Krause
  • Rep. Jodie Laubenberg
  • Rep. George Lavender
  • Rep. Jeff Leach
  • Rep. Tryon Lewis
  • Rep. Doug Miller
  • Rep. Rick Miller
  • Rep. Geanie W. Morrison
  • Rep. Jim Murphy
  • Rep. John Otto
  • Rep. Chris Paddie
  • Rep. Tan Parker
  • Rep. Charles Perry
  • Rep. Larry Phillips
  • Rep. John Raney
  • Rep. Debbie Riddle
  • Rep. Scott Sanford
  • Rep. Matt Schaefer
  • Rep. Ralph Sheffield
  • Rep. Ron Simmons
  • Rep. Wayne Smith
  • Rep. Drew Springer
  • Rep. Jonathan Stickland
  • Rep. Van Taylor
  • Rep. Ed Thompson
  • Rep. Steve Toth
  • Rep. Scott Turner
  • Rep. James White
  • Rep. Paul Workman
  • Rep. Bill Zedler
  • Rep. John Zerwas
Contribute Online
Join My Email List