Rep. Dwayne Bohac Files Legislation to End All Property Taxes for Elderly Homeowners

February 6, 2017

AUSTIN—State Representative Dwayne Bohac (Houston-District 138) has filed House Bill 1473 that will exempt anyone eighty years old or over from all property taxes if they’ve owned their home for at least ten years.
“Owning your own home is the American dream,” said Bohac. “But sadly in Texas that dream is impossible to truly achieve because under our current property tax system, homeowners are forced to endlessly pay rising property taxes years after they’ve paid off their own home.”
Under HB 1473, the proposed exemption would also automatically extend to a surviving spouse. In addition, the legislation ensures that local public school funding will be protected and preserved. School taxing jurisdictions will remain 100% whole by an appropriation of state revenue to fund this commitment to our senior citizens.
“It’s time we stand up for our most seasoned taxpayers who have done their part to fund our public schools, counties and cities over the course of a lifetime,” added Bohac. “They deserve the peace of mind of knowing their home is truly their home. Their taxpayer duties are done. They’ve earned it.”
Representative Bohac was first elected to serve in the Texas House in November 2002. Since his first day in office, he has vigorously fought for property tax relief for homeowners and business owners alike. He represents the West Houston communities of Spring Branch, Bear Creek, Katy and Cy-Fair.


Bohac campaign photo

“Since his initial election to the State House, Representative Bohac has been a tireless supporter of Spring Branch ISD. He has worked hard to increase funding for our schools, including his strong support of the bill that provided pay increases for our staff in the last legislative session. Representative Bohac has also worked closely with our district to obtain support and passage of our initiatives to eliminate Robin Hood and to provide additional funding for high quality pre-K.”

Mike Fallick, Former SBISD School Board Member, Former President

What Others Are Saying »